Gerontology Certificate


The Gerontology Certificate Program in Human Services is a collection of interdisciplinary courses that prepare students to bring expertise, intervention skills and understanding about the aging adult to work and to family settings. Older adult development, and adaptive and maladaptive behaviors of the normal aging process are explored. Emphasis will be placed on critical life issues such as health, mental health, care giving, social support, living arrangements, work and retirement, and human service resources. Death and dying, and the ethical issues that often occur during the last years of life will be examined. To earn a certificate, complete the required courses as listed with a minimum grade of “C”. At least 50% of all course work must be completed at Cypress College.

Required Core Courses are listed in suggested sequence (12 units):
HUSR 200 CIntroduction to Human Services3
HUSR 275 C Ethical Issues in Human Services3
HUSR 210 CIntroductory Fieldwork3
SOC 250 CSociology of Aging3
or HUSR 250 C
Elective Courses - Select three units from the courses listed below (3 units):3
Introduction to Family Studies3
Crisis Intervention and Referral3
FIrst Aid, CPR and Emergencies (formerly PE 235 C)3
Human Sexuality3
Psychology of Aging3
or HUSR 255 C
Total Units15