Aquatics Specialist Certificate

Division: Kinesiology


The Aquatics Specialist Certificate prepares the student for occupational competency in swimming instruction as recommended by the state of California and the American Red Cross.  Course work in KIN 235 C, KIN 255 C, and KIN 256 C may be waived with current Red Cross cards in First Aid and CPR, Life Guarding and Water Safety Instruction at the discretion of the division. To earn a certificate, complete the required courses as listed with a grade of C or better. At least 50% of all course work must be completed at Cypress College. This certificate requires a total of 16 units.

Required Courses (5 units):
KIN 112 C Swimming - Intermediate-Advanced (formerly PE 135 C)1
KIN 235 C First Aid, CPR and Emergencies (formerly PE 235 C)3
KIN 255 C Lifeguarding (formerly PE 237 C)1
Elective Courses (11 units):11
Surfing (formerly PE 122 C)0.5-1
Springboard Diving (formerly PE 136 C)0.5-1
Springboard Diving - Intermediate - Advanced0.5-1
Swim for Fitness (formerly PE 149 C)0.5-1
Water Aerobics (formerly PE 151 C)0.5-1
Water Polo (formerly PE 146 C)0.5-1
Athletic Injuries-Prevention and Care (formerly PE 236 C)3
Sports Management (formerly PE 247 C)3
Psychology of Sport (formerly PE 248)3
Water Safety Instruction (formerly PE 238 C)2
Recreation Leadership and Diverse Groups3
Outdoor Recreation and Camp Counseling3
Kinesiology - Internship Seminar3
Total Units16