Cyber Security Technician Certificate


The Cyber Security Technician Certificate (level one) is designed to prepare students who intend to pursue employment in entry-level cyber-security/forensics positions. The program provides the foundation skills to analyze cyber security threats from a variety of perspectives at the enterprise and national levels. This certificate requires 18 units. A grade of C or better is required in each course taken.

Required Courses (18 units):
CIS 107 F Introduction to Operating Systems3
CIS 109 FPersonal Computer Security2
CIS 160 F Introduction to Cyber Security (formerly Introduction to Computer Forensics)3
CIS 180 F Introduction to Networking Concepts4
CIS 183 FNetwork Security Fundamentals3
CIS 222 F Computer Scripting (formerly CGI/Perl Scripting)3
Total Units18

Outcome 1: Use a working vocabulary of cyber-security terminology.

Outcome 2: Assess, troubleshoot, maintain and update an enterprise level information security system.

Outcome 3: Evaluate the computer network and information security needs of an organization.