Networking Skills Certificate

Division: Business and Computer Information Systems


The Networking Skills Certificate is designed to prepare students for a career in computer information systems. Students are trained to keep computer networks protected and running smoothly and users safe. Students learn how to wire offices for high-speed broadband, install and maintain firewalls, monitor security software, support desktop users, and build out custom networks. A grade of C or better is required in each course taken. This certificate requires 12 units.

Required Courses (12 units):
CIS 107 F Introduction to Operating Systems3
CIS 109 FPersonal Computer Security2
CIS 180 F Introduction to Networking Concepts4
CIS 181 F Computer Certification Preparation3
Total Units12

Program Level Student Learning Outcomes

Outcome 1: Demonstrate proficiency in one or more common networking software tools.