Fitness Specialist Certificate

Division: Kinesiology


The Fitness Specialist Certificate (formerly Aerobic Instructor Certificate) prepares students for occupational competency in private and corporate fitness industry. All students must complete at least 16 units. Coursework in KIN 235 C may be waived with current Red Cross cards in First Aid and CPR at the discretion of the division. To earn this certificate, students must complete the required courses as listed with a grade of C or better. At least 50% of all course work must be completed at Cypress College. This certificate requires a total of 18 units.

Required Courses (12 units):
KIN 235 C First Aid, CPR and Emergencies (formerly PE 235 C)3
KIN 272 CStrength and Conditioning3
KIN 274 C Exercise Testing and Prescription3
KIN 295 C Kinesiology - Internship Seminar3
Elective Courses (6 units):6
Activity Courses - KIN 100 C - KIN 199 C (.5-1 units)
Athletic Injuries-Prevention and Care (formerly PE 236 C)3
Psychology of Sport (formerly PE 248)3
Sport and United States Society (formerly PE 250 C)3
Movement Anatomy3
Exercise Physiology3
Total Units18