Cyber Defense Certificate

Division: Business and Computer Information Systems


The Cyber Defense Certificate provides concepts and hands-on skills to identify Cybersecurity threats and implement procedures to protect Cyber assets. It will also enhance students’ chances to pursue a professional career in Cybersecurity by giving them various options to prepare for industry-recognized certificates such as Security+, CEH, CCNA, MCSE, ISM and CCNA Security. To earn a certificate, complete the required courses as listed with a grade of C or better. At least 50% of all course work must be completed at Cypress College.

Required Core Courses (12 units):
CIS 190 C Cybersecurity Competition Fundamentals3
CIS 195 CNetwork Security3
CIS 196 CEthical Hacking3
CIS 230 CCisco Networking 13
Perl Programming3
Python Programming
Students must take one area of emphasis group of courses as listed below (additional 12-18 units depending on emphasis group selected):12-18
Emphasis: Computer Forensics (18 units):
Computer Forensics I3
Computer Forensics II3
Cyber Crime3
Computer Forensics Legal Aspects3
Analysis of Digital Media3
Computer Forensics Capstone3
Emphasis: Cisco Networking (12 units):
Cisco Networking 23
Cisco Networking 33
Cisco Networking 43
CCNA Security3
Emphasis: Homeland Transportation Security (18 units):
Intro to Criminal Justice3
Concepts of Criminal Law
Career Communication/Portfolio3
Homeland Security3
Aviation/Transportation Security3
Crew Resource Management
Disaster Preparedness/Response3
Passenger Services and Safety3
Emphasis: Microsoft Networking (12 units):
Administering Windows Server3
Microsoft Networking Fundamentals3
Microsoft Exchange and SharePoint Services
Administrating and Configuring Windows Server Directory Services3
Administrating and Configuring Windows Server Network Infrastructure3
Emphasis: Network Virtualization (12 units):
Administering Windows Server3
Administrating and Configuring Windows Server Directory Services3
Microsoft Virtualization and Cloud Deployment3
VMware vSphere Virtualization Networking3
Emphasis: Advanced Networking - Selected four of the following courses (12 units):
VMware vSphere Virtualization Networking3
CCNA Bootcamp3
Wireless Networking Technology3
Voice Over IP3
Storage Management and Cloud Computing3
Total Units24-30