Virtualization and Cloud Computing Certificate

Division: Business and Computer Information Systems


The Virtualization and Cloud Computing Certificate (formally Network Virtualization Certificate) is intended for those individuals who need to gain hands-on practice and competency in virtualization and cloud computing. Students will learn the necessary knowledge and skills in the evaluation, planning, analysis, design, implementation, deployment, management, and security of virtualized and cloud-based enterprise software, database, platform, storage and infrastructure services.

This certificate covers recent trends in virtualization including the current wave of virtualization and cloud technologies from VMware, Microsoft, Amazon, Google and IBM. It will also enhance students’ chances to pursue a professional career in virtualization and cloud computing by giving them various options to prepare for industry-recognized certificates.

To earn a certificate, complete the required courses as listed with a grade of C or better. At least 50% of all course work must be completed at Cypress College. This certificate requires a total of 17 units.

Required Courses are listed in suggested sequence (17 units):
CIS 230 CCisco Networking 14
CIS 201 C Microsoft Virtualization and Cloud Deployment3
CIS 202 C VMware Cloud and Virtualization Networking (formerly VMware vSphere Virtualization Networking)3
CIS 257 C Cloud Implementation and Security (formerly Storage Management and Cloud Computing)4
CIS 274 C IT Project Management (formerly Project Management Fundamentals)3
Total Units17