DevSecOps (Development, Security, and Operations) Certificate

Division: Business and Computer Information Systems

Financial Aid Eligible

The DevSecOps (Development, Security, and Operations) Certificate prepares the students for a career in DevOps and DevSecOps. The program is designed to teach students the skills of secure coding, security as code and integration of security practices within the DevOps process. Students will learn to incorporate security features in every step of the development and operations process. The curriculum also helps prepare students for the industry recognized DevSecOps Engineering, AWS Solutions Architect, CompTIA Security+, Project+, and Linux+ certification exams. To earn a certificate, complete the required courses as listed with a grade of C or better. At least 50% of all course work must be completed at Cypress College. This certificate requires a total of 19 to 20 units.

Required Courses (13 units):
CIS 190 CIT and Cybersecurity Funds4
or CIS 230 C Cisco Networking 1
CIS 195 CNetwork Security3
CIS 247 CPython Programming3
CIS 275 CAdv Python Programming3
or CIS 226 C Java Programming
Elective Courses - select two courses from the following (6-7 units):6-7
Introduction to Data Analytics3
Linux Server Administration3
Cloud Implementation and Secur4
IT Project Management3
Digital Forensics3
Total Units19-20

Program Student Learning Outcomes:

Program Goals:

OUTCOME 1: Provide students with the academic preparation needed to pursue a career in the field of Development, Security and Operations (DevSecOps).

OUTCOME 2: Provide those individuals currently working in the DevOps or related field with the opportunity to further their understanding, knowledge and skills according to the latest advances in the field of Cybersecurity.

OUTCOME 3: Provide students hands-on training by experts using industry-standard equipment and 24/7 availability of laboratory resources through remote connectivity

OUTCOME 4: Increase employment opportunities of students by preparing them for industry-recognized certificates such as DevSecOps Engineer (DSOE), , Linux+, Security+, Project+, AWS Certified Cloud Solutions Architect.

OUTCOME 5: Develop, implement and update a curriculum that fosters problem-solving skills and provides specific training to better achieve the business goals of employers.

Program Objectives

OUTCOME 1: Define and describe common threats, attacks and vulnerabilities

OUTCOME 2: Define and describe various technologies and tools utilized in secure coding and Software Defined Networking (SDN)

OUTCOME 3: Secure Cloud Computing, Virtualization, Linux and Windows Operating systems

OUTCOME 4: Explain the importance of policies, plans and procedures related to organizational security

OUTCOME 5: Compare and contrast basic concepts of Public Key Encryption (PKI) and Cryptography

OUTCOME 6: Given a scenario, analyze the results of a system and network reconnaissance and vulnerability assessment

OUTCOME 7: Given a network-based and host-based threat, implement or recommend the appropriate response and countermeasure.

OUTCOME 8: Given a scenario, implement an information risk management, incident response and security vulnerability management process.

OUTCOME 9: Given a scenario, analyze common symptoms to select the best course of action to support incident response

OUTCOME 10: Explain the purpose of virtualization and best practices on implementing cloud and edge computing

OUTCOME 11: Given a scenario, review security architecture and make recommendations to implement compensating controls.

OUTCOME 12: Compare and contrast the general purpose and reasons for using various cybersecurity tools and technologies

OUTCOME 13: Collect and analyze digital forensics evidence and recover partially destroyed information